Writer’s Retreat for Educators

The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers is excited to announce a new opportunity for educators with a student who received recognition in the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards—the New Orleans Writing Marathon.

Two educators will be invited to participate in the Southeastern Louisiana Writing Project’s annual New Orleans Writing Marathon. The selected educator-writers will join nearly 50 other participants for a five-day writing retreat where they will have the opportunity to write about anything they want, without criticism or evaluation, and interact with other educators and writers.

This opportunity is generously made possible through the Dr. Ernest B. Fleishman Educators’ Fund.

How to Apply:

The application will open in February of 2020. Please check back for details.


Applicant must be the educator of at least one student who has received regional (Honorable Mention, Silver Key, Gold Key) or national (Silver Medal, Silver Medal with Distinction, Gold Medal) recognition in the current year’s Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. The recognition can be for art or writing.

About the Retreat:

Beginning as an experimental workshop at a conference in Louisiana, the New Orleans Writing Marathon has become a signature event for writers nationwide. The five-day retreat in the French Quarter provides both the structure and the freedom for participants to attain an unparalleled level of concentration as they immerse themselves in the writing process and also their surroundings.

The Selection Process:

Two educator-writers will be selected through a competitive juried process. The committee’s criteria will focus on the quality of the submitted work.

Included in the Retreat:

A $500 Award will be granted to each educator-writer, in addition to a $1,000 stipend for their travel and/or incidentals. Hotel accommodations will also be provided.

About the Dr. Ernest B. Fleishman Educators’ Fund:

The Dr. Ernest B. Fleishman Educators’ Fund allows the Alliance to provide recognition, professional-development opportunities, and classroom materials to educators whose students excel in the Awards, especially those from under-resourced communities. The fund was formed in recognition of Dr. Ernest B. Fleishman, a champion of educators, long-time member of the Alliance Board of Directors, and former senior executive at Scholastic Inc.