Scholastic Art & Writing Awards - Alliance for Young Artists & Writers



The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards were founded in 1923 and, for nearly a century, have inspired bold ideas in creative teens throughout the country. Explore our interactive timeline to learn more about the Scholastic Awards, our alumni, and our jurors. View archival films and documents and see original work by some of our notable alumni!

View our timeline in full screen

Notable Alumni

Frances Farmer, 1931 Actress Bernard Malamud, 1932 Author Robert McCloskey, 1932 Author, Illustrator
Jacob Landau, 1933–34 Painter, Printmaker Harry Bertoia, 1934, ’36 Designer Ezra Jack Keats, 1934 Author, Illustrator
Hughie Lee-Smith, 1934 Artist Truman Capote, ca. 1936 Author Charles White, ca. 1937 Artist
Richard Avedon, 1941 Photographer Philip Pearlstein*, 1941–42 Artist Mozelle Thompson, 1944 Artist
Andy Warhol, ca. 1945 Artist Robert Indiana, 1946 Artist Sylvia Plath, 1947 Author, Poet
Edward Sorel*, 1947 Artist Idelle Weber, 1947 Artist Cy Twombly, 1948 Artist
John Updike, 1948 Author Kay WalkingStick*, 1948 Artist John Baldessari*, 1949 Artist
Donald Barthelme, 1949 Writer Alan Arkin, 1951 Actor Red Grooms, 1952 Artist
Robert Redford, 1954 Actor, Activist, Director Peter S. Beagle, 1955 Author Joyce Carol Oates, 1956 Author
Luis Jiménez, 1957–58 Sculptor Mel Bochner*, 1958 Artist Arnold Hurley, 1962–64 Painter
Marc Brown*, ca. 1963 Author, Illustrator John Lithgow, 1963ActorStephen King, 1965 Author Donald Lipski*, 1965 Sculptor
Joyce Maynard*, 1966–71 Author Carolyn Forché*, 1967 Poet Gary Panter, 1968 Artist
Kevin Bales, 1970 Activist Tom Otterness*, 1970 Sculptor David Salle, 1970 Painter
Ken Burns*, 1971 Director, Producer Michael Bierut, ca. 1974 Graphic Designer Thane Rosenbaum*, 1976 Professor, Novelist, Activist
Rodney Alan Greenblat, 1977 Artist Richard Linklater, 1978 Filmmaker John Currin, 1979 Artist
Audrey Niffenegger, 1981 Author, Illustrator Myla Goldberg, 1989 Author Yolanda Wisher, 1991 Poet
Paul Chan*, 1992 Artist, Activist Ned Vizzini, 1996 Author Lucianne Walkowicz*, 1996 Astrophysicist
Zac Posen*, 1998 Fashion Designer Lena Dunham, 1999 Actress, Director Erik Madigan Heck, 2001 Photographer
Winston Chmielinski, 2006 Artist Tschabalala Self, 2008 Artist
*Recipients of the Alliance’s Alumni Achievement Award.