Art.Write.Now.2014 National Exhibition


Art.Write.Now.2014 National Exhibition features the top art and writing from teens across the United States, identified through the prestigious Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.

The Awards’ 2014 judges included Wangechi Mutu, Andres Serrano, Michael Raisler, Matthew Higgs, Davy Rothbart and Edwidge Danticat, among others. The Art.Write.Now.2014 National Exhibition spans two locations and will showcase over 1,000 visual and literary works from students in grades 7–12. On display are works of film, animation, 2D and 3D artworks, e-readers, video games, and video greetings from the students.

These creative teens follow in the footsteps of past Alumni, including Andy Warhol, John Baldessari, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Edward Sorel, Robert Redford, Joyce Carol Oates, Ken Burns, and this year’s Alumni Achievement Award Honoree, Kay WalkingStick, as well as many others.

Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons School of Design at The New School
66 Fifth Avenue @ 13th Street / 2 West 13th Street @ Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10011
Dates: June 5–14, 2014 (exhibition now closed)

Pratt Institute’s Pratt Manhattan Gallery
144 West 14th Street, 2nd floor, New York, NY 10011
Dates: June 5–14, 2014 (exhibition now closed)

The Art.Write.Now.2014 National Exhibition and accompanying programs are co-sponsored by the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons The New School for Design and through grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, and A Mad Idea Foundation. Special thanks to Pratt Institute for hosting the Photography and Ceramics & Glass exhibition in the Pratt Manhattan Gallery. Additional acknowledgement to Framerica, Associated Visual Communications, Inc., and A Mad Idea Foundation for their special support of the National Exhibition.