The ESA Foundation Award for Video Game Design

About this Special Achievement Award:

The ESA Foundation Award for Video Game Design, underwritten by the Entertainment Software Association Foundation, provides two works exhibiting excellence in video game design with $1,000 scholarships.

What types of work qualify for video game design?

Works are original playable games or conceptual designs of playable games that make use of gameplay and digital media (e.g., visual art, sound design, digital storytelling, etc.).


  • Download a flyer to share with students and educators.
  • Click here for submission and collaborative project guidelines.

How to Apply:

All submissions to the Video Game Design category will be considered. Click here to apply.

About Our Partner:

The Entertainment Software Association Foundation supports those leveraging interactive technologies to create meaningful opportunity in the lives of America’s youth.


Congratulations to our 2019 recipients!

Ashley Barg, Brenna Brown, Mary Grace Garcia, Van Nguyen, Melissa Ran, and Ella Wilson

ASHLEY BARG, BRENNA BROWN, MARY GRACE GARCIA, VAN NGUYEN, and ELLA WILSON, DEADication, Video Game Design. Grade 10, SAY Sí, San Antonio, TX. The ESA Foundation Award for Video Game Design